Contact Us
Emergency Notices
General Info & Index

Public Notices
Community Calendar
City Code
2009 CODES
Agendas and Minutes
Renaissance Grant Information/Application
Capital Planning
Job Opportunities
Official Notices
City Boards
Fire Department
Solid Waste & Recycling
Golf Course
Mayor & Council
Parks & Recreation
Police Department
Planning Department
Public Works
Green Industrial Center
Chamber of Commerce
Iowa Lakes Corridor of Opportunity
Clay County Fair
Clay County Iowa
SPACE - Spencer Alliance for a Creative Economy
Spencer Recycles
Spencer Hospital
Spencer Community Schools
Spencer Community Gardens

Reynold Peterson
1604 4th Avenue East
Home (712) 262-9255
Office (712) 580-7200
Elected: 2006
Term Ends: 12/31/2013
City Council
Ward One
Frank Petska
814 East 5th Street
Home (712) 262-3094
Office mailto:ward1petska@spenceriowacity.com

Term Ends: 12/31/2017

City Council
Ward Two
Bill Orrison
917 Elmwood Drive
Home (712) 580-3142
Office mailto:ward2orrison@spenceriowacity.com

Elected: 1977
Term Ends: 12/31/2015

City Council
Ward Three
Steve Bomgaars
1608 3rd Ave East
Home (712) 262-3698

Elected: 2004
Term Ends: 12/31/2013

City Council
Ward Four
Randy Swanson
1205 Country Club Lane
Home (712) 580-8247
Office (712) 262-6953

Elected: 2003
Term Ends:12/31/2015

City Council
Ward Five
Ron Hanson
707 5th Ave.S.E.
Home (712) 262-7748

Elected: 2006
Term Ends: 12/31/2013

City Council
At Large
Rich Prentice
112 East 2nd
Home (712) 262-2947
Office (712) 262-3230

Elected: 1996

Term Ends: 12/31/2015

City Council
At Large
George Moriarty
500 West 3rd Street
Home (712) 262-7098
Office mailto:atlargemoriarty@spenceriowacity.com

  Elected: 2014

Term Ends: 12/31/2017

City Official's Electorial and Meeting Information

The City of Spencer is chartered as a Mayor-Council form of government. There are seven council members. The city is divided into five wards, one council member is elected from each of the five wards and two run at-large which means that everyone in all five wards may vote for them. The Mayor is elected by the voters for a term of two years. The council members are elected by the voters for a term of four years. The council meets in regular session the first and third Mondays of each month to conduct the city's business and can meet for special meetings at anytime. They are also involved in several committee meetings throughout the month.

Click here for a map of Spencer wards.



Site design by Emagine Marketing